Prof. Hirofumi Akagi, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan)

Hirofumi Akagi (Life Fellow, IEEE) received his Ph. D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan, in 1979.

Since 2000, he has been Professor, currently Distinguished Professor, with the Tokyo Institute of Technology. Prior to it, he was with the Nagaoka University of Technology, Nagaoka, Japan, for 12 years, and Okayama University, Okayama, Japan for nine years.

His research interests include power conversion circuits, controls, and systems, as well as their applications to industry, transportation, and electric-power utility. He has authored and co-authored more than 140 IEEE Transactions/Journal papers. According to Google Scholar, his lifetime citations reach over 65,000 times with an H-index of 104.

Dr. Akagi was the recipient of the 2001 IEEE PELS William E. Newell Award, the 2004 IEEE IAS Outstanding Achievement Award, the 2008 IEEE Richard H. Kaufmann Award, the 2012 IEEE PES Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award, the 2018 IEEE Medal in Power Engineering, and the 2020 EPE Gaston Maggetto Medal. He is the world’s-first, and currently the sole winner of both an IEEE medal and the EPE medal.

He served as the President of the IEEE Power Electronics Society from January 2007 to December 2008, and as the IEEE Division II Director from January 2015 to December 2016.

Share this page